Wednesday, July 22, 2009


There are four great classics of China. Romance of the Three Kingdoms, which is currently depicted a lot in movies, is one of the most famous among the four. This is followed by Water Margin / Outlaws of the Marsh, Journey to the West and Dream of the Red Chamber / The Story of the Stone. I saw these four characters on sale for SGD2 each. I thought why not get them since they are famous characters in the Chinese classic world.


The Journey to the West has four main characters. They are:
Tripitaka / Xuánzàng (玄奘) / Táng-Sānzàng (唐三藏)
Monkey King / Sūn Wùkōng
Zhū Bājiè / Zhū Wùnéng
Friar Sand / Sandy / Shā Wùjìng
There is a fifth character, the horse, a dragon prince.

The story is about a Buddhist monk, Xuánzàng's pilgrimage to India during the Táng dynasty in order to obtain Buddhist religious texts called sutras. The Bodhisattva Guānyīn, on instruction from the Buddha, gives this task to the monk and his three protectors in the form of disciples — namely Sūn Wùkōng, Zhū Bājiè and Shā Wùjìng — together with a dragon prince who acts as Xuánzàng's horse mount. These four characters have agreed to help Xuánzàng as an atonement for past sins.


Unfortunately, they do not sell the horse character but suddenly a kangaroo appears from no where.....I mean did the journey ended up Down Under?



Post a Comment

<< Home