Monday, July 12, 2010


I am happy that at least Diego Forlan won something. Thomas Mueller's achievement will be considered rookie of the tournament equivalent like in the NBA. Casillas fully deserves the Golden Glove while Spain deserve the Fair Play Award for their impressive discipline record in the entire tournament. The Dutch also broke records here: 22 yellow cards in 7 matches (the highest among all nations) and committed 126 fouls (also the highest among all nations). Watch the video of the preparation for the World Cup final match promotion below.

Rank Name Country Club Goals (Pens) Assists Minutes MPG
1 Thomas Mueller GER Bayern Munich 5 (0) 3 473' 95
2 David Villa ESP Barcelona 5 (0) 1 635' 127
3 Wesley Sneijder NED Inter 5 (0) 1 652' 130
4 Diego Forlan URU Atletico Madrid 5 (0) 1 654' 131

World Cup 2010: Diego Forlan Wins Golden Ball As Germany's Thomas Mueller Takes Young Player Award & Golden Boot
Uruguay striker named best player in South Africa...
By Stephen Darwin
Jul 11, 2010 10:29:00 PM

Following Spain's 2010 World Cup final triumph over the Netherlands, Uruguay striker Diego Forlan picked up the Golden Ball award while young Germany forward Thomas Mueller took the Best Young Player accolade as well as the Golden Boot.

Atletico Madrid striker Forlan proved to be one of the star performers in South Africa, beating off competition from the likes of Wesley Sneijder and Spain hitman David Villa to be crowned the tournament's best player - as voted for by the media.

Forlan was, however, pipped to the post when it came to the Golden Boot, with Thomas Mueller's five goals and three assists for Germany edging him ahead of Silver Boot winner Villa and Holland playmaker Sneijder who picked up the bronze award.

Mueller also claimed the Best Young Player gong for his impressive performances in South Africa, beating both Ghana's Andre Ayew and Mexico's Giovanni Dos Santos to claim the prize.

Real Madrid goalkeeper Iker Casillas, who made a string of impressive saves in Spain's final triumph over the Netherlands, claimed the Golden Glove while Vicente del Bosque's side were also recognised with the Fair Play Award.

World Cup Top Goal Scorers - Thomas Mueller Wins The Golden Shoe
Who is leading the scoring charts for the World Cup Golden Shoe?

By Ewan Macdonald
Jul 11, 2010 10:24:00 PM

Thomas Mueller of Bayern Munich and Germany has won the World Cup Golden Shoe after finishing joint-top of the scoring charts and with the most assists.

Mueller shared a tally of five with David Villa of Spain, Uruguay's Diego Forlan, and Wesley Sneijder of the Netherlands, but managed three assists while the others could hit just one.

Thus the young German in his first ever World Cup wins the award, as FIFA decided that assists will be used to decide in the case of a tie.

Below we give a chart containing all the 2010 World Cup goal scorers. Players are sorted first by goals scored, then (to separate the top four only) assists, then minutes per goal (MPG), then finally surname.

Last update: Sunday 10 July 2010, 23:24 SAST

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home